Phd & Master Thesis

No. Of Ph.D & Master’s Students Guidance: Organic Synthesis and Molecular Engineering Group

PhD students Completed: 6 (Six)
PhD students Ongoing: 8 (Eight)

  1. Manoj Kumar Ghosh- Title: New Intrigues with Oxidative Dearomatisation and Related Strategies (2018),
    Presently -National Post doc fellowship- University of Warsaw Poland
  2. Nilendri Rout – Title: Solving Molecular Complexities with Oxidative Dearomatisation and Transition metal
    catalysis (2019)
  3. Sagarika Behera (2020)- Tiltle: Synthetic Approaches Towards Biologically Active Heterocycles Employing
    Catalytic Strategies’’
  4. Sushree Ranjan Sahoo ( 2020) – Title: Synthetic Efforts toward Carbon-Heteroatom Bond Generations
    Employing Dearomatisation, Alkene and Alkyne Intrigues
  5. Puspendu Kuila (2022) – Title: Tribromides in Oxidative Dearomatisation: A Toolbox to Solve Molecular Complexities
  6. Nabakumar Bera ( 2022)- Title : Synthesis of Heterocyclic Molecules Employing Metal Catalysed Atom-economic Couplings and Sustainable Dearomatization Techniques


Two Year Masters Project Student Ongoing: 2 (Two)

  1. Ruthenium Catalysed Synthesis of Synthesis of Azepines- Ipsita Majhi ( 2021-22)
  2. BF3·Et2O‑Promoted Cascade Reactions: Direct Synthesis of Sulfinylated Spiro-trieneone-Sangam Jha ( 2021-22)
  3. Visible Light Assisted Oxidation at Benzylic Position of Homologated Ynones with Aerobic Oxygen, Leading to Diketone Synthesis- Ankush Kumar ( 2020-21)
  4. Synthetic Attempts with Tribromides towards Dearomatisation – Sayan Halder ( 2018-2020)
  5. Towards the sysnthesis of Tocopherol – Kunika Gupta( 2018-2020)
  6. Gold(l)-Catalyzed Atom-Economic Synthesis of 2-Substituted indole via 5-endo-dig Cyclization- Ms. Moni Singh
  7. Synthesis of 1-ethylpyridine tribromide; Utilization in Spirofurano Naphthalone Synthesis : Footsteps towards
    Asymmetric Synthesis- Mr. Devasish Sood
  8. Halo-azido Ketones : Synthesis, Applications and Activity – Ms. Prithwa Das
  9. Asymmetric Synthesis of Tocopherol and Tocotrienol family employing C-2 methylation of 2-carboxy-4-
    Chromanones- 2017-18- Mr. Sudeep Sarkar, Presently Ph.D fellowship University of Warsaw Poland
  10. Asymmetric Synthesis of Tocopherol (Vitamin-E) Employing C-2 Methylation of 2-Carboxy-4-Chromanones2017-18-Mr. Subhradip Kundu, Presently Ph.D fellowship University of Strosbourg, France
  11. Approach towards the Synthesis of Biologically Active Chromone Systems-2016-17- Mr. Chandak Adhikari
  12. Synthetic Efforts towards Medicinally Important Aryl Naphthofurans and Benzofurans Mediated by
    Quaternary Ammonium Salt- 2016-17- Mr. Suchit Gupta
  13. Trials towards functionalising α-ketols – 2014-16- Miss. Samapika Mishra
  14. Concise synthesis of Napthoquinones- 2014-16- Miss. V. Chandurani
  15. Facile Hyvervalent Iodine mediated Oxidative dearomatization of Naphthols- 2012-2014- Mr. Sushree Ranjan Sahoo.
  16. Attempts towards total synthesis of spiroliganones (2013-2015)- Mr. Punabasu Bhattacharya.
  17. Efforts towards alkyne insertion reactions via Oxidative Dearomatisation ( 2013-2015) – Mr. Rahul Kumar

Master of Science (M.Sc) Thesis & Project Interns

Abhishek Bissoyi 
Present Status: BS-MS, IISER Behrampur

Swetarani Patel 
Present Status: M.Sc – SG Womens College, Rourkela

Sandhya Rani Padhy (2019) 
Present Status: M.Sc – SG Womens College, Rourkela

Soham Ghosh (2019) 
Present Status: M.Sc – BHU

Puja Kumari (2019) 
Present Status: M.Sc – BIT Mesra

Anindita Mukherjee (2019) 
Present Status: M.Sc – BIT Mesra

Sudeep Sarkar ( 2016-18) 
Present Status: Ph.D at University of Warsaw, Poland 2018,


University of Bordeaux

Subhradip Kundu ( 2016-18) 
Present Status: Ph.D at University of Geneva, Switzerland

B. Sharmistha (2018) 
Present Status: M.Sc at IISER Kolkata

Ananya Mishra (2018) 
Present Status: Centurion University of Technology and Management, Bhubhaneswar

Rajat Kumar Singh (2017) 
Present Status: IISER Trivandrum

Suchit Gupta ( 2016-17) 
Present Status: Assistant Professor, FIIT JEE

Chandak Adhikari ( 2015-17)
Present Status:Assistant Professor,FIT JEE

Shubhajit Basak ( May- July 2017)
Present Status: M.Sc Student at NBU

Diptangshu Hardikar ( May-June 2017)
Present Status: M.Sc Student at Central University, Bilaspur

V.Chandurani (2015-16)
Present Status:—

Samapika Mishra (2015-16)
Present Status:

Punarbasu Bhattacharya – (2014-15)
Present Status: Scientific Officer @ Power Grid Corporation

Rahul Kumar- (2013-15)
Present Status: Faculty @ Akash Institute, Delhi

Sarasija Das – (2014)
Present Status: Ph.D student @ IISER, Kolkata

Devjanee Bardhan – (2014) 
Present Status: Ph.D student @IIT, Madras

Sarbeswar Sethi – (2014-15)
Present Status: —

Sujata Mahapatra- (2013-14)
Present Status: Ph.D student@ Novozymes, Denmark

Prajna Moharana- (2013-14)
Present Status: —-